I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

Effic. com.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

Resolution No. 184

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio

Relative to observing May 15, 2008 as "Peace Officers' Memorial Day" and honoring those who have fallen in the line of duty, paying the ultimate sacrifice while protecting the people of Guam.

BE IT RESOLVED BY *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN* GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, On May 15, 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed this day as 'Peace Officers Memorial Day' to honor and recognize members of the 'Thin Blue Line'; and

WHEREAS, it is on this day that we join one another, on Guam and across the nation, to pay tribute to the brave men and women who have selflessly dedicated their lives to upholding the law, protecting our citizens from criminal injustice, and ensuring that our communities are a safe place to live; and

WHEREAS, law enforcement officers risk their lives everyday by answering the call of duty, they dedicate themselves to upholding the law in our society, and they relentlessly demonstrate a willingness to help others within our community; and

WHEREAS, as citizens of this community we can help in the prevention of crime by cooperating with law enforcement officers and through volunteer

- 1 programs such as neighborhood watch partnerships, civilian police reserves,
- 2 homeland security from terrorism, and various public safety events; and
- WHEREAS, our island leaders continue to support law enforcement entities and personnel by providing the necessary means essential to
- 5 protecting fellow officers and the island community; and
- 6 WHEREAS, on "Peace Officers' Memorial Day" our island is
- 7 encouraged to pay tribute to the men and women in law enforcement who
- 8 over the years sacrificed their lives and have fallen in the line of duty while
- 9 protecting our island residents; and
- 10 WHEREAS, may we honor and preserve the legacy set forth by these
- 11 courageous men and women of law enforcement who gave their lives for
- 12 justice and integrity, who stood as one against crime, and who gave the
- 13 ultimate sacrifice to ensure the welfare of our island and our nation; now
- 14 therefore, be it
- 15 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does
- 16 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, honor the men and women who
- 17 gave their lives in the line of duty by presenting the island's flags at half-staff;
- 18 and be it further
- 19 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does
- 20 hereby on behalf of the people of Guam recognize May 15, 2008, as "Peace
- 21 Officers' Memorial Day", and be it further
- 22 **RESOLVED,** that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary
- 23 attests to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter
- 24 transmitted to the families of those who have sacrificed their lives in the line
- 25 of duty: Police Sergeant Frankie E. Smith; Police Officer I Francisco D.

- 1 Taitague; Police Officer I Juan M. Santos; Police Officer I Francisco A. Reyes;
- 2 Police Officer III Tomas M. Sablan; Police Reserve Officer Rudy C. Iglesias;
- 3 Police Reserve Officer Helen K. Lizama; Police Officer I Raymond S. Sanchez;
- 4 Police Officer I Manuel A. Aquino; Police Lieutenant Francisco G. Toves;
- 5 Police Officer I Eddie A. Santos; Conservation Officer Francisco M. Isezaki;
- 6 Drug Enforcement Andminstration Special Agent Larry D. Wallace;
- 7 Department of Corrections Officer Douglas W. Mashburn; United States Air
- 8 Force Airman Laurie Lucas; United States Air Force Sgt. Stacey E. Levay; to
- 9 the Guam Police Department; to the Guam International Airport Authority
- 10 Airport Police; to the Port Authority Police; and to the Honorable Felix P.
- 11 Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DU	LY	AND	REGUL	ARLY A	ADOP	TED	BY	THE	EXE	CUTIVE	CO	MM	TTEE
OF	I	MINA	'BENTE	NUEB	I NA	LIH	ESL	ATUI	RAN	<i>GUÅH</i>	4 <i>N</i>	ON	THIS
		DAY	OF MAY	, 2008.									

Judith Won-Pat, Ed,D.
Speaker and
Executive Committee Chairman

Tina Rose Muña-Barnes Senator and Secretary of the Legislature